Yeah, I’ll post fucking poetry I wrote!

28 Sep

I am typically a pretty healthy guy, but for some reason when I get sick, I get sick hard. I can’t remember the last time I had just a plain old cold or sniffles, but I’m running out of space on one hand to count the number times in the last few years I have gotten swollen tonsils, back aches, and a fever. Today is one of those days, and thankfully I don’t have class or work anyway, so I had free time to finally write a poem, which may or may not turn into a song if my friend Richard comes up with something good. Enjoy it or don’t, but it’s going up here anyway.

********************

If you’re mouth ain’t foaming
Your opinion just ain’t worth hearing
Get me to care about your views

The most effective informing
Is with screaming, shouting, sneering
Tell me how to feel about the news

Tell me what to think
Before I change the channel
I think Jersey Shore might be on

Tell me what to think
Tell me who will win the battle
Against the evil side that you’re not on

One side says this corporation
Wants to kill your dogs and cats
The other side says they are your friend

Turns out that same corporation
Pays for both side’s broadcasts
So they all get your money in the end

Tell me what to think
Before I change the channel
I think You’re Cut Off might be on

Tell me what to think
Tell me who will win the battle
Against the evil side that you’re not on

It’s not about who’s right
It’s about who’s got the loudest voice
Who can make you more afraid
About not making them your choice

The story takes second place to personality
A fact never had its own fan club
We’re open to interpret all of reality
When we’re persuaded by the right prime time TV schlub

Tell me what to think
Before I change the channel
I think The Biggest Loser might be on

Tell me what to think
Tell me who will win the battle
Against the evil side that you’re not on

Bush is Hitler
Obama is Hitler
Palin is Hitler
Everyone’s Hitler!

Hitler can’t even be Hitler anymore
Because the job was taken by a media whore
And I want you to feed me more
Feed me more of your ideological war
Tell me my income was stolen by Al Gore
Or that Dick Cheney shot up a whole liquor store

Just tell me what to think!

Leave a Reply

