Keynoted, Captain (via Second Person Shooter)

11 Mar

I know I list them in my blog roll, but I really don’t think I could do enough to express appreciation for Second Person Shooter, the blog run by two of my former classmates, Kent Sutherland and comedienne Laura Michet, both writers who have been featured on websites like Kotaku, published in magazines, and seen in other various repositories for information and commentary on video games and digital media.

Their blog discusses all facets of gaming and digital culture from many different angles, and here’s a post that specifically addresses the problem of unified gamer culture and how there is still a clear gender bias. However, Laura’s writing deals with it in a direct and honest way that doesn’t get wrapped up in sanctimony and pretentious academic language. Please, you’re doing a favor to yourself and the internet by reading and sharing the blog to other people.

I, in no way, am actively engaged in any kind of collaboration with Laura or Kent right now, so this is not an act of indirect self-promotion. I am sincerely impressed and overjoyed by the combination of intellectual stimulation and entertainment this blog is, and need to make more people see it.

Keynoted, Captain Kent and I are going to PAX East. Last year, I attended without really knowing what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised by the experience—PAX is a very well-run con. This year, we’re going again, and so that I can enjoy the experience, I’m deliberately ignoring everything asinine that the PA guys have done over the past six months. This isn’t the first time that the jolly old internet has pardoned its own for offensive ignorance, and it won’t … Read More

via Second Person Shooter

Leave a Reply

