New set: Comedy Studio 8-7-11

10 Aug

This is probably going to be my last set at the Studio for a while. Since the Fall is gonna get busy for me. This time, since I had done pretty well with my last two sets and had gotten those few minutes of material down, I actually wanted to take some time and try some new stuff in front of a real audience and work it out, “sweat a little” as you might say. While it didn’t crush like my last set, I feel like it was a fun time.

If you’re curious, that’s a gin and tonic I brought up with me on stage, only because I hadn’t finished it yet. I’m edgy!

After the show, actually a couple came up to me and said, “Nice intellectual jokes!” which I couldn’t tell at first if they were being sarcastic or not, but they assured me they were serious. Then, later, another person came up, told me he recognized me from last month, and said he was surprised that I did all new material and thought I was going to do the same jokes, and he appreciated the effort.

If anything, that exemplifies the thing I really like about the Comedy Studio audiences over any other audience: they’re people who go out looking for something sophisticated and they appreciate the craft of comedy. That’s why I always like going back there, even if it means a 5-hour bus ride.

Leave a Reply

