New set: ImprovBoston 8-21-11

22 Aug

I’m pretty proud of myself that in the last three months, all of my taped sets have had some new material in them and I haven’t done ENTIRELY the same routine twice. This video has some new bits, one of them actually one I actually wrote a long time ago and just never threw into my regular stage rotation.

This show went really well, but it was also a show where another comedian got a big laugh off a joke about gender-neutral pronouns, so that shows the kinds of rooms I seem to work best in.

Everyone who knew me when I started out in Boston two years ago who sees me now says I’m miles better than I was then, and I think I know the core reason why: When I first started out, I was concerned with just writing jokes. Boston comedians tend to be very strong joke writers, very tight and polished and clever. Moving to New York, I saw a real shift away from just jokes and more emphasis on linking some kind of visceral feeling into what you say onstage, sort of making the comedy an act of sharing and engaging on a deep emotional level beyond the joke, and I had a real sink-or-swim reaction to that which caused me to shift my writing style, which I think I’ve started to really enjoy and thrive with.

The best example on this video is the cell phone bit. That came out of a 100% real experience, and my frustration in the situation is 100% real, and I think it comes through, and that’s why it works so well. Alex likes that bit a lot and says I should try and write more jokes like that that let my actual feelings come out.

Hopefully the fact that my new material has been playing so well in Boston bodes well for my attempt to enter this year’s Boston Comedy Festival, but we will see.

Leave a Reply

