First new stand-up video in a while

11 Dec

This is not that great of a video. The image and sound quality is poor, the sound especially being drowned out by the music playing in the other room of the bar. I don’t get that many laughs, because this set was performed in front of an audience of two Austrian tourists and the other comics that were booked on the show.

But I’m posting it anyway, for a couple of reasons. Primarily, I have not posted a new video of stand-up since August, and a lot of the previous videos have had big chunks of overlap in the material. I’ve been writing a lot and just wanted some evidence that I have been doing so, and this is about 8 minutes of totally new stuff, save for my dependable opener. Whether it’s good or not, I have made some attempt to create.

Secondarily, it was a fun set, because the two audience members that were there were there to enjoy it. At the beginning of the show, there was a total of six audience members, but four of them had left by the time I got up, even though the previous comedians were great guys who I think are hilarious (former podcast guests Dave Waite and Mo Diggs among them), so perhaps it was best I didn’t have to deal with the ones who were going to be overly critical. The Austrians were young, and even though they weren’t laughing very loud, they were very PHYSICAL in their appreciation, as in broad smiles and gestures of approval, so they were giving me energy that allowed me to put some passion into my performance.

Tertiarily, videos like this are a good way to document just how much shit you have to fight through as a stand-up comic just to do what you want to do before you get famous. The bar knows full well there’s a comedy show going on, yet they don’t turn the music down any while it’s happening, so we all had to fight through that, and, despite the low audience turn-out, I had to find the motivation to give a shit and work on my material. I decided to care, and in the end, even though I didn’t kill in front of an audience of hundreds, I ended up entertaining two people who will hopefully count me among their pleasant memories of their trip to America.

Also, as I do say at the beginning of the video, and this is the Ivy League snob in me coming through, I particularly enjoy performing for English-speaking non-Americans, because I myself (as you will see in my material about Occupy Wall Street, Wal-Mart, and the way lawmakers treat women) don’t necessarily have the best opinion of my own country (although I cherish it giving me the freedoms to hold those opinions), and with that kind of audience I don’t run the risk of alienating any jingoists with my criticism.

Leave a Reply

