Video: Getting Dirty at Rock Bar 2-6-12

12 Feb

Dad, unless you want to hear some stories of a personal nature, I suggest you sit this one out. Not saying I’m afraid of you listening, just saying YOU might not find it comfortable.

Yeah, there’s a new chunk of stuff that I’m working on that can be described as “sordid tales from my recent past,” and it all started one weekend when I got drunk with Alex and told him a bunch of these stories, which he thought were even funnier than what I had been doing on stage, so, of course, he urged me to make it part of my act.

The thought had crossed my mind before, but I was always afraid of being too uncomfortable to say stuff that personal on stage, or even worse, making my audience really uncomfortable instead. However, I’ve learned that the only way you get better as a comedian is to confront the awkward and uncomfortable and force yourself to own it. I actually had an interesting experience where I went to an open mike I hadn’t gone to in a while, and when I started doing all of this new material, not only did it get laughs, but one of the regulars had this amused look of incredulity on his face, like he didn’t expect this to be coming out of my mouth. It made me feel like I was growing up, after a fashion.

This set is at Rock Bar on a show run by Neil Thornton and Frank Liotti, two comics who like me way more than I deserve. I figured a gay bar on Christopher Street was as good a place as any to risk going dirty, and I think the audience agreed. Added bonus of this video is there’s no music blasting in the background to ruin the sound quality.

Leave a Reply

